How do I restore a course from a backup file?

You will learn how to use a TITANium course backup file (.MBZ file type) to restore your course or to import all of the resources and activities into your course.

Follow these steps to restore a course from a backup file, assuming the backup file is on your local computer:

This guide has been updated for TITANium 2019-2020.

Enter the new/destination course in TITANium.

new/destination course  main page
Upload the backup file to your User private backup area in TITANium using the Restore tool.

Follow these steps to upload a backup file to your User private backup area.

1. Click on the Gear icon.

Gear icon selected

2. Select Restore.

Restore is selected

3. Scroll down to the User private backup area.

User private backup area is selected.

4. Click on Manage backup files.

Manage backup files is selected

5. Drag the backup file to the file upload area.

 file upload area is selected.

6. Click on Save changes.

 Save changes button is selected.

7. The backup file is now listed in the User private backup area.

User private backup area is selected (2)
Use Restore to copy the course content into your new course.

Follow these steps to use Restore to copy the course content into your new/destination course.

1. Return to the course main page.

course main page (2)

2. Click on the Gear icon.

Gear icon is selected(2)

3. Select on Restore.

Restore is selected (2)

4. Scroll down to the User private backup area.

User private backup area is selected.

5. Find the backup file and click on Restore.

Restore link is selected (4)

6. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Continue.

Continue button is selected (3)

7. Select Merge the backup course into this course.

For best results and to not remove yourself from your own course, choose to merge this backup file in with whatever content is already in the course.

Merge the backup course into this course is selected

8. Click on Continue.

Continue button is selected (4)

9. Select which restore setting you want.

Choose whether to include blocks, filters, calendar events, groups/groupings and competencies. Generally speaking, leaving the defaults selected is usually the best choice.

Restore settings page

10. Click on Next.

Next is selected

11. Deselect any content items you do not want

For example, you could deselect the Announcements forum. Otherwise, you will have two of them. One of which, you will need to delete after the restore process is finished.

Selection page for content

12. Click on Next.

Next button is selected (6)

13. Perform restore.

There is no going back after clicking on the Perform restore button.

Keep in mind this process will not delete any content. It will only add content.

Perform restore button is selected (2)

14. The content has been added to the course.

You will need to do some clean up. For example, you now have two Announcement forums. So, delete one.

Do you have any Turnitin or VitalSource or other External tools? If so, they will need to be relinked.

Do you have any videos in Sharestream (Pick n Play)? If so, you will need to copy the videos and if you have any embedded in textboxes, they will need to be re-linked/re-embed.

course main page with added content

Article Summary

You have now learned how to use a TITANium course backup file (.MBZ file type) to restore your course.