How do I change a user's role in my course?
You will learn how to change a user's role within your course, or how to add an additional role for that user.
For example, if you have a student or colleague in your course in TITANium, and you want to change their role within the course, so that they can access the course content when the course is closed, you will need to give them a new role of consisting of one of the following roles:
Teacher = User has the same role as you have, meaning control over all content including access to all student grades within the course.
Non-editing teacher = User can access and grade Activities via the activity itself, but cannot change the value of Grade items directly in the gradebook. The non-editing teacher can view the gradebook with student grades, but cannot change students grades direclty in the gradebook.
Non-grading Teacher = User can add content/Resources/Activities to the course, but cannot access the Grades.
Follow these steps to add a new role for a user already enrolled in your course. If you still need to enroll a user, read this guide instead.
1. Enter your course in TITANium.
2. Click on Participants in the Nav drawer.
Tip: If the Nav drawer is not displayed on your screen, click on the "Hamburger" icon (the three lines in the top left corner of the web page).
3. Click on the Gear wheel icon.
4. Select Enrolled users.
5. Locate the user in the list.
This user listed currently has the role of Student.
Student role = user can access only course content that the Teacher allows. The user cannot view the course if it is not made available by the Teacher.
6. Click within the area showing the user's role.
7. Click on a new role to add.
8. That user will now have the permissions of that new role and of the old role as well.
Non-grading Teacher role = User can add content/Resources/Activities to the course, but cannot access the Grades.
In this example, the Student role was manually given, so it can also be removed. However, if the Student role was given through automatic enrollment via Titan Online, then it cannot be removed by the Teacher.
You have now learned how to change a user's role within your course, and how to add an additional role for that user.